• Gifted & Talented Program Information

    Waller ISD Gifted & Talented Program Referrals Dec. 2-13
    Waller ISD will accept referrals for students to be evaluated for the Gifted and Talented (GT) Program Dec. 2-13, 2019. Referrals for students who are currently in first through eleventh grade may be submitted by parents/guardians and/or teachers to the student’s counselor. All current kindergarten students will be evaluated for GT per Texas Education Agency guidelines.

    GT refers to a child who performs or shows the potential of performing at a remarkably high level of accomplishment when compared to others of the same age, experience, or environment. The child also exhibits an unusual capacity for leadership or high-performance capability in an intellectual, creative, or artistic area. More information is provided below. 

    WISD GT Identification Process 
    WISD GT Program Referral

    What is Gifted?
    According to the Texas Education Code 29.121, gifted and talented refers to a child who performs or shows the potential of performing at a remarkably high level of accomplishment when compared to others of the same age, experience, or environment. The child also exhibits an unusual capacity for leadership or high-performance capability in an intellectual, creative, or artistic area.
    Resource: Bright Child vs Gifted Learner

    How are students identified as GT?
    Beginning the 2019-2020 school year, all kindergarten students in WISD will be considered for gifted and talented services through the use of a universal screener administered in January. For students in grades 1st-11th, a referral for gifted services can be initiated by a parent/guardian, teacher, counselor, or administrator during the referral window, December 2-13. Referred students are screened using an abilities assessment and students scoring within the gifted potential range will then be further assessed using a full battery abilities assessment. The assessment contains verbal, nonverbal, and quantitative measures that assesses cognitive development, the ability to learn new tasks, and problem solve. Once data is collected, the information is then submitted to a committee, who has received training in gifted education, to determine placement for the gifted and talented program. A letter with the results will be sent home to the parent/guardian of the student who was referred for services. Students, in grades 1st-11th, who are identified as GT will begin services the following school year, 2020-2021. Kindergarten students identified as GT will begin services February 24, 2020.

    To refer a WISD student to the GT Program, contact his/her school counselor. 

     Counselor  Campus  Email Address
     Kim Pruitt  Fields Store ES  mpruitt@wallerisd.net
     Kimberly Kmiec   Fields Store ES/Turlington ES  kkmiec@wallerisd.net
     Nancy Tryon  Turlington ES  ntryon@wallerisd.net
     Jamie Riemer  Holleman ES  jriemer@wallerisd.net
     Jennifer Valladares  Holleman ES/Roberts Road ES  jvalladares@wallerisd.net
     Courtney Kerlick  Roberts Road ES  ckerlick@wallerisd.net
     Natasha Jackson  Jones ES  njackson@wallerisd.net
     Misty McGee  Jones ES  mmcgee@wallerisd.net
     Laura May  Schultz JH  lmay@wallerisd.net
     Christy Smith  Schultz JH  cvsmith@wallerisd.net
     Lindsey Pasqua  Waller JH  lpasqua@wallerisd.net
     Ireland Mueller  Waller JH  imueller@wallerisd.net
     Jessica Jensen  Waller HS  jjensen@wallerisd.net
     Tamara Zingelmann  Waller HS (A-Cq)  tzingelmann@wallerisd.net
     Joy McCaffety  Waller HS (Cr-Hen)  jmccaffe@wallerisd.net
     Brandina Wells  Waller HS (Her-Me)  bwells@wallerisd.net
     Gena Kellam  Waller HS (Mi-Ry)  gkellam@wallerisd.net
     Holly McLean  Waller HS (Sa-Z)  hmclean@wallerisd.net

    Other WISD Advanced Academics Program Services