Return to Headlines

Schultz JH 8th Annual Bookmark Contest

SJH Bookmark Design WinnersSchultz Junior High (SJH) is celebrating another round of artists in its 8th Annual Bookmark Design Contest. Every year, SJH Librarian Vanessa Ragsdale hosts the contest, which allows students to showcase their creativity by designing their own bookmark artwork. Approximately 100 designs were submitted this year and 26 designs were chosen as winners. 

“I think students connect to this contest because it gives them a chance to be creative,” Ragsdale said.

Ragsdale advertised the contest to all students when classes visited the library. Students were given three weeks to complete their designs that had to be hand-drawn and include the words “SJH” and “Library”. A panel of teachers judged each design, and chose the winners who were announced during the morning announcements. Copies of each winning bookmark will be placed in the SJH library for students to keep and use as they read.

“I hope students feel a little bit of ownership in creating things for the school,” Ragsdale said. “It's definitely a huge confidence boost because many students will be using their bookmarks.”

View the winning bookmark designs here. Congratulations to the 21-22 SJH Bookmark Design Contest winners:

  • 6th grade: Danny Cerritos, Karina Perez, Andrea Martinez, Londyn Rose, Madison Daniels, Jon Vacante, Luis Flores, and Victor Villarreal. 
  • 7th grade: Ethan Manzon, Braden Ritchey, Chloe Davis, Geovanni Aguilar, Aeva Smith, Tammy Harris, and Abi Loan. 
  • 8th grade: Bella Scanlan, Lucas Ramirez, Aven Kee, Miranda Miranda, Angelina Araiza, Evelyn Arcila, Chance LaMont, Rachel Sesmas, Naidelyn Medina, Eva Reyes, and Mario Basurto.