Return to Headlines

Waller ISD Recognizes Campus Teacher, Rookies, Support Staff of the Year

Each year, Waller ISD (WISD) campuses nominate and select honorees for Teacher of the Year, Rookie of the Year, and Support Staff of the Year awards. Teachers of the Year are veteran classroom leaders, Rookies of the Year are outstanding first-year teachers, and Support Staff of the Year are individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty to provide auxiliary services in their area of expertise. Once selected as a campus award winner, they move on to an application process for selection as the district-level honorees.

WISD is excited to announce and recognize all the campus-level winners for their greatness! Following are the campus winners. During the next two weeks, they will be highlighted on and official WISD social media. Please reference the schedule below for the date that each campus’ winners will be highlighted. (Faces of Greatness Q&A will be posted in the mornings and videos will be posted in the evenings.)

District-level honorees will be announced during the March 18 regular meeting of the Board of Trustees.


of the Year

of the Year

Support Staff
of the Year


 Fields Store Elementary

Kim Kmiec

Ashanti Wilson Mindi Lightfoot Feb. 25

 Holleman Elementary

Beatriz Sanchez Tomasa Usin Teresa Wilson Feb. 26
 Jones Elementary Joni Beliz Betsy Hashaw Paula Williams Feb. 27
 Roberts Road Elementary April Long Veronica Reyes Violeta Lopez Feb. 28
 Turlington Elementary Sandra Smith Deysi Conner Patricia Cambric March 1
 Schultz Junior High Brody Klefstad Janice Glueck Yunuen Barriga March 4
 Waller Junior High Amy Simon Morgan Smith Peter Crisman March 5
 Waller High School Richard Owens  Karina Castillo Diana Jones

March 6