Return to Headlines

Waller ISD Staff Member Receives Scholarship

Jennifer O'Connor In Waller ISD (WISD) education is not only important to students. WISD staff are constantly working to learn and grow in order to better support students in whatever role they serve. One WISD Transportation team member has taken a large step in advancing her education. Jennifer O’Connor has been awarded the Fred Oppermann Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded by the Texas Association of Pupil Transportation (TAPT) and provides a one-time grant for a complete learning/certification program through the TAPT, culminating in the Certified Pupil Transportation Official Certification. This grant covers the cost of all required classes, plus the fee to receive the numbered certificate of completion.

“Waller ISD is at a time of extreme growth and I want to grow along with it,” O’Connor said.

O’Connor began her transportation career in 1999 and has driven buses for several school districts before joining WISD. In the last year, she has been promoted to Router where she is responsible for creating routes for the district’s bus drivers and ensuring student safety. With all her experience, O’Connor set her sights on further advancing in the field by receiving her TAPT certification.

“This career is so satisfying and fulfilling, and I am anxious to advance,” O’Connor said. “I want to use my skills and knowledge to the best of my ability to mentor and encourage other drivers.”

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must be a member of TAPT, an employee for a school district Transportation Department, and have one year experience. The Scholarship Selection Committee chooses recipients from written applications and personal interviews.